Jeremy Truitt

An attempt to understand the world of current events, finance and the economy on a level that allows me to teach it. I'm a journalist. Oh and the occasional post about family, life and kids!

The $40 Box of Twinkies…I’ll Take Three!! What. The. Eff.

Do an eBay search for “Twinkies,” or “Hostess,” or “Ding Dongs” and you will be sufficiently shocked. SHOCKED I say!

Why didn’t I think of this?! I could have bought like 50 boxes and made some good money!!

There’s an interesting thing here though, on a serious note…This is simple supply and demand. The law of supply and demand states that the price of a good in a competitive market will settle at “equilibrium” based on the available demand for that product.

Before Hostess made the announcement they were going out of business they sold Twinkies for a couple bucks a box. Now that supply has completely stopped, the equilibrium price of said good has skyrocketed.

Guess we should have made a Twinkie investment!

At either rate, the assets will get scooped up by Sara Lee or someone else and they’ll be back in equilibrium of a couple bucks a box pretty soon :)

5 comments on “The $40 Box of Twinkies…I’ll Take Three!! What. The. Eff.

  1. grannyK
    November 17, 2012

    No, I don’t think I would buy Twinkies on ebay. That is hysterical! I mean, I like them, but no way would I pay that money for them.

  2. jlsalinger
    November 17, 2012

    Craziness!

  3. roseylinn
    November 17, 2012

    I laughed when I saw the box that is for sale on ebay for $200,000. Considering that it is basically a pound/yellow cake, with a vanilla flavored cream filling injected in the middle; anything over 50 cents is too much for one Twinkie.

    Not to mention that purchasing a food product from ebay raises questions about the safety of the product.

    There are several versions of the recipes available free online for people to make them out of much healthier ingredients. :) The cake pan needed to get the correct size and shape can also be purchased from Amazon. :)

    • Jeremy Truitt
      November 17, 2012

      Exactly! My mom makes a phenomenal cake that tastes basically the same. I guess people are freaking out because they’ll “never get them again,” which I also find funny because they’ll be back as soon as they’re auctioned off.

C'mon I KNOW you have an opinion!

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2012 by in Business, Cooking, Food, News, Personal and tagged , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

